Becoming Khaleesi

SideReel, where I work, is rather obsessed with HBO’s Game of Thrones.  In fact, one of our crazies photoshopped a bunch of GOT stills with our faces on them.  Mine was the first.  He made me “Laura Stormborn.”

Laura Stormborn

Laura Stormborn

For the uninitiated, Danaerys Stormborn Targaryen is one of the main characters in GOT, and she is an exiled princess (and the rightful heir to the throne of Westeros) who marries a Dothraki Khal named Drogo.

Khal Drogo

Khal Drogo

Spoiler alert: he subsequently dies, their child is stillborn (and a dragon fetus), and the fossilized dragon eggs she received as a wedding gift subsequently hatch into baby dragons after she takes them – and herself – into a funeral pyre, and comes out unscathed.  Thus she becomes known as the mother of dragons.  Anyway, she’s a badass.  And since the photoshop, some folks around here refer to me as Khaleesi, and respond with the Dothraki acknowledgement: “It is known.”

So… the Season 3 premiere of GOT will air on Easter Sunday, March 31.  SideReel will have a party on April 5 to watch the episode.  It is known that some of us will attend in costume, as we are sometimes wont to do around here.  Natch, I’m going as Khaleesi.  So a while back I started researching costumes, and this is the version of Khaleesi I will try to become:

Khaleesi

The reference image for my costume

I’ve done some shopping and here’s what I picked up:

The Danaerys wig

The Danaerys wig, and me making a stoic Khaleesi face

My fabric and notions, pre-distressing

My fabric and notions, pre-distressing

I’ve tested the process I’ll be using to distress the “leather” elements, and it seems like it’ll work.  The pic is not great, but hopefully gives a sense of the effect.

Left, virgin "leather"Right, distressed "leather"

Left, virgin “leather”
Right, distressed “leather”

The other work I’ve done so far is the puckering on the top.

First step on the "shirt"

First step on the “shirt”

I had a revelation the other day, that I own a brown skirt with a fold-over waistband.  This will work for the underlay of my Khaleesi skirt/chaps thing.  Here’s the first test of putting the brown “leather” onto the skirt.  From here the leather will get distressed and shredded on the ends.

The basic skirt/chaps structure

The basic skirt/chaps structure. Note that I will likely opt not to bare my chubby midriff. Why is Khaleesi so petite?!

So that’s it for now.  More work to follow over the next few days.  I’ll do my best to document the rest of the construction, but failing that, I’ll at least post the finished product.

Side note: tonight is HBO’s red carpet premiere of Season 3 in San Francisco, and Sean scored us an invite.  I’m hoping to get some pics of (or with) the 8 cast members who will be there.  Also, the executive producers and George R.R. Martin himself will be there!  Nerds everywhere are jealous.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marietta Lambrecht on March 20, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Not something I would care to try!!! Wish you success. Marietta

    Reply

  2. […] close to our GoT party now.  In an earlier post, I told you about the Khaleesi costume I plan to create for the party.  The other night I cut and […]

    Reply

  3. […] my previous posts Part 1 and Part 2, I showed you the early phase of my Danaerys Targaryen costume construction.  This […]

    Reply

  4. […] edition in the Becoming Khaleesi series.  If you haven’t already read Part 1, Part 2, or Part 3, let this be your official spoiler alert!  And before we go any further, it […]

    Reply

  5. […]  For those who have been following my earlier posts in the “Becoming Khaleesi” series (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4), you’ll recall that this was the big event my costume was for. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

